🪟 The Window Question

...what would your answer be?

Welcome

to the newsletter where we help you reach your FULL potential in mindset, leadership, and communication. Whether you are a friend, a Patriot Ventures customer, or on a mission to grow - I am glad you are here.

I know…I know…

I’ve been MIA.
It’s not you, it’s me.

I needed to focus on some other projects. But I am back!

Three Things:
1. Unpacking the Window Question
2. World’s 1st AI Commercial
3. Tin Foil Hat

Logic
…Unpacking the Window Question

Image generated with Meta AI

I always enjoy catching up with my friend Spencer Mak, the owner of Mak Pack, a top-notch dog boarding and training business in AZ. Beyond his good looks and charisma (hoping for a discount, Spencer!), I admire his logical problem-solving approach.

Last night, during a barbecue with his family, Spencer hit me with a curious question: "How much would you charge to wash every window in Seattle?"

I started throwing out ideas and went into problem solving mode:

- The square mileage of Seattle

- Number of buildings

- Windows per building

- Average building height

- Cost of supplies

- Time to wash each window

Feeling confident, I expected Spencer to be impressed by my thorough analysis. Instead, he chuckled and said, "Derek… $10 per window."

Wait, really? It’s that simple?

Spencer explained that this is a popular interview question for C-Suite and executive roles to test decision-making skills.

While my approach was detailed and methodical, Spencer’s quick and straightforward answer also worked. So, which is correct? According to Spencer, both can be right.

What This Question Really Tests…

1. Problem-Solving Skills: How do you break down a large, open-ended question?

2. Analytical Thinking: How do you estimate costs considering various factors?

3. Creativity and Innovation: Can you think outside the box for a unique solution?

4. Business Acumen: Do you consider market rates and pricing strategies?

5. Communication Skills: How well do you explain your thought process?

6. Stress Management: Can you stay calm and think on your feet?

Ultimately, it’s about showing how you think and communicate under pressure, not just finding the perfect answer.

My Take on the “Perfect Answer”

The best approach depends on the situation. If time is limited, make a quick decision. If you have ample time, go the analytical route. Time is crucial in decision-making. I think we all need to consider TIME when we approach a decision.

AI
…world’s 1st AI commercial

I thought Toys R Us died. But apparently they are back with the world’s 1st AI generated brand commercial. AI is disrupting everything. It’s critical to stay in the know on AI to future proof your career and business.

Could AI replace your role? I know a lot of people are worried about this.

AI is transforming various job markets. Here are top jobs likely to be replaced by AI:

1. Data Entry Clerks: AI can handle data input and processing more efficiently.

2. Telemarketers: Automated systems can manage telemarketing calls.

3. Customer Service Representatives: Chatbots can address customer inquiries and issues.

4. Bookkeeping and Accounting Clerks: AI can manage financial records and transactions.

5. Retail Salespersons: E-commerce and AI-driven shopping reduce the need for in-store staff.

6. Proofreaders: AI tools can perform proofreading and editing tasks.

7. Assembly Line Workers: Robotics and AI can perform repetitive manufacturing tasks.

8. Insurance Underwriters: AI can assess risks and determine premiums.

9. Market Research Analysts: AI can gather and analyze market data.

10. Taxi and Delivery Drivers: Self-driving vehicles may replace human drivers.

While AI will disrupt these jobs, it will also create opportunities in AI development and roles requiring human skills like creativity and empathy. Adaptability and continuous learning are essential for future job markets.

BONUS: Check out this history of AI if you really want to geek out!

Conspiracy Theory
…Tin Foil Hat

Let me be clear. This has NOTHING to do with business but I find this incredibly interesting:

A map of ALL the conspiracy theories and how they are connected.

Go ahead. Crack a beer. This one is a doozy.

That’s a wrap
…back on track

Sorry for my hiatus. It was for good reason but I am back ready to send you weekly tips to grow your business super powers.

See you next week

OH one last thing. Did you know Pringles are NOT made of potatoes…

Enjoy that rabbit hole on Google…

Derek